Memories

From the little evidence I can gather on this subject, I have concluded that my childhood was not as eventful as the ones of my peers. My mom tells me that I was later than my brother and sister to develop speech. My brother and sister started to talk in complete sentences when they were two years old (and never shut up after that), but I took an additional year to start talking in the same way. This is probably due to the close relationship that the three of us had at the time, as while they talked I observing the sort of things they did. I never needed to talk because they were so good at spotting the indicators for my needs before I said anything about them. They noticed what sorts of toys I played with, and whenever I seemed to be searching around aimlessly they would know what I was doing and speak for me.

However, what made my need to speak even lesser was the incredible level of independence all three of us possessed when we grew up. Whenever we had a problem to overcome, whether it was a need, social conflict, or even a physical barrier, we had, and still do have, a unique ambition to overcome it ourselves rather than seek the assistance of our parents. Overcoming challenges mattered to us as kids, and despite all the reasons I now know that motivate me to do that I do not know why I did it as a kid.

cq5dam.web.1280.1280.png

When I was about four or five, I remember being particularly hungry on a Saturday afternoon. My mom was out of the house, and my dad was out mowing the lawn. While four-year-old Ben easily could have gone outside to ask for some lunch, climbing up the refrigerator door to drink some chocolate syrup flavoring made much more sense to me. My parents felt so proud of my new-found independence and ability to access the fridge that they did not even bother to ground me for it. Journeying through my childhood gave me independence that allowed me to endeavor school in a manner that makes me appreciate my education, and my parents were very lain back when it came to me overcoming bigger and bigger challenges. While the did step in when things got too serious, most of the time they let me figure out my own solutions, and that is a skill that everyone should be given the opportunity to grow up with.

Leave a Reply

