The Vulnerability of Expression

 

Listening to this TED talk made me question a current trend that has been creeping around social media that has me slightly worried. Ill see many valid ideas that I agree with being spread around, but those ideas will be linked to the wrong words. The separation of the words “sex” and “gender” is a prime example of this. Before the big boom for equal rights of LGBT hit, “gender” had a specific meaning to biological and linguistic traits of word or being, but now it is being used to refer to something for which there already exists a word. In this instance, the meaning of “gender” has replaced “representation”.

This TED talk gives me the same feeling. I feel like “vulnerability” has replaced “expression”. All of the times she refers to herself as being vulnerable, you could easily just replace that statement to regard expression instead. It’s not that I disagree with anything that she is saying, it’s that I feel her made her point confusing by not referring to what she means to say properly.

With that out of the way, I also want to express that I fail to empathize with her on the difficulty of expression. In recent years, I have come to the realization that people hardly judge you for being expressive. Instead, people tend to applaud expressionism because of the interest in provides them. I like to think of an extreme example of expressionism as going out into the middle of a city, and fining a public area to start paining a canvas in. You might feel strange randomly creating a painting in the middle of a city, but people walking by you will be interested. It’s not every day they get to see someone doing that, and I’m certain most of them would not look down upon you for doing that.

This example seems extreme, but it does work in most social situations. If you be expressive and talk to someone about something interesting, the worst that can happen is that they might not care. If they don’t care,then  that’s fine, as that topic might just not be there cup of tea. It is rare for an individual to reject expressionism and look down upon it, and I can only say that I am sorry for the kind of person who does not like the things that bring joy to life.

1 thought on “The Vulnerability of Expression”

Leave a Reply

